The Shining – I Wonder How

Share now:

Single Reviews by Kris Griffiths and Mark Bayross

Review by Kris Griffiths

This is the first full release from The Shining after their previous limited-edition single sold out in the first week of its release. Formed by ex-Verve members Simon Jones and Simon Tong, the band are being rightfully touted as the UK’s next great rock and roll act. Some people might say, myself included, that they display more of the oomph that The Verve lacked in their latter days.

I WONDER HOW is heralded by a stirring siren sound that reverberates through it, complementing its toe-tapping melody. Despite the slight “doo-doo-doo” overkill it is a swaggering beauty of a tune that compounds the The Shining’s shining potential. They’ve already been forced to pencil in some more tour dates after the first lot swiftly sold out. A band very much in demand.

5 stars

Review by Mark Bayross

The Shining is a new quintet featuring Simon Jones and Simon Tong, formerly of The Verve, and I WONDER HOW is their first official single (limited-edition predecessor QUICKSILVER having come out on 10” only).

Produced by sometime Killing Joker Youth, the heritage of the Simons’ former band shines through loud and clear: thumping drums, swaggering bass and swirling guitars, let down only by an incongruously weak and tuneless chorus.

Still, it’s only their first release, and thumbs up for their fiddly-but-funky website.

4 stars