SW4 – Summer Anthems 2007

Share now:

Now  you can plug in and join the party with the official soundtrack to the South West Four dance festival, “South West Four – Summer Anthems 2007”. Over the August bank holiday, tens of thousands of clubbers will descend on Clapham Common in London and Coopers Field in Cardiff, with one aim; to go crazy to the best music and DJs that dance music has to offer….this is the sound of South West Four.

Each of the DJs performing at South West Four this year were asked to submit their favourite tracks of the summer, providing an incredible list of music from which most of “South West Four: Summer Anthems 2007” was compiled. This double CD mixed album is a reflection of the world’s best dance music chosen by the world’s best DJs. Added to this, some of dance music’s biggest names, including Roger Sanchez, The Shapeshifters, Paul Van Dyk, Eric Prydz and Judge Jules have all provided their own productions for the album to celebrate their appearance at the festival.

South West Four is an event that deserves a quality soundtrack and Summer Anthems 2007 certainly delivers. CD1 is a trip through some of the best, innovative dance music out there, from vocal house to minimal and back, all designed to pull you towards the dance tents. This is not just a collection of tracks on a compilation you’ve seen a hundred times before – this is a real musical journey. There’s the exclusive, acid house tinged Shapeshifters track, ‘Excuse Me’ and the massive ‘Let The Beats Roll’ by Tim Deluxe feat Simon Franks, alongside tracks currently devouring dancefloors like Claude Von Stroke’s minimal mix of the classic Mighty Dub Katz ‘Magic Carpet Ride’, and WiNK’s grooving techno interpretation of Radio Slave ‘Screaming Hands’ (as selected by Steve Lawler!) This mix slickly moves between styles, building the anticipation and by the time Alan Braxe and Kris Menace crank it up a notch with their epic house track, ‘Lumberjack’, we’re ready for CD2…

CD2 is all about peak time tunes, chunky electronic basslines and killer hooks – Eric Prydz kicks things off as Pryda with ‘Armed’, epic, electro house with a progressive edge. As we’re treated to the exclusive Redanka remix of Paradise Soul ‘Wake Up’ the vibe starts to intensify. ‘Everybody put your hands in the air’ shouts the vocal on ‘Watch Out’ by Bar Electric transporting you to a hot, rocking tent on Clapham Common! From the acid synths of, ‘The Cat’ by Dusty Kid, to the huge riffs of ‘Sabotage’ produced and handpicked by Paul Van Dyk  this mix just keeps on jumping. With big tune after big tune including the Laidback Luke remix of Roger Sanchez ‘Again’ and ‘Beautiful Life by Gui Boratto (a big Sasha anthem for the summer) we’re hooked until the end.

It’s not an easy task to capture the essence of a festival on CD, but with the personal input of the DJs appearing at the event, this album is your definitive soundtrack to the South West Four experience.

CD 1

01. Sebastien Leger feat Gia Mellish ‘Hypnotized’
02. The Shapeshifters ‘Excuse Me’
03. Haze ‘Freak’ (Album Mix)
04. Physics ‘Don’t You Want’ (G-Club Mix)
05. Ricky. L feat M:ck ‘Born Again’
06. Henrik B feat Terri B ‘Soulheaven (Original Version)’
07. Soul Conspiracy ‘Say What! (Hatiras Remix)’
08. Tim Deluxe feat Simon Franks ‘Let The Beats Roll (Club Mix)’
09. Mighty Dub Katz ‘Magic Carpet Ride (Claude VonStroke Sucker Free City Edition)’
10. Guy Gerber ‘Belly Dancing’
11. Gabriel Ananda ‘Bambus’
12. Radio Slave ‘Screaming Hands (WiNK Interpretation)’
13. Minilogue ‘Ahck (Jichael Mackson Remix)’
14. Alan Braxe & Kris Menace ‘Lumberjack’

CD 2

01. Pryda ‘Armed’
02. D Ramirez & Mark Knight ‘Columbian Soul’
03. Paradise Soul ‘Wake Up (Redanka’s Wide Awake Remix)’
04. Jorgensen ‘Untitled (deadmau5 Remix)’
05. Bar Electric ‘Watch Out (Vocal Mix)’
06. Johan Ilves ‘Wrong Number (Greg Kobe Remix)’
07. Dusty Kid ‘The Cat’
08. Russell G ‘Lose Control’
09. JJ ‘Master Breaker’
10. Paul Van Dyk ‘Sabotage (Extended Mix)’
11. Roger Sanchez ‘Again (Laidback Luke Remix)’
12. Sucker DJ’s Lotta Lovin ‘EDX Ibiza Sunrise Mix)’
13. Trisco ‘Podium (Max Graham Club Mix)’
14. Gui Boratto ‘Beautiful Life’