Ratt – Ratt

Share now:

Album Review by Nigel A. Messenger

Smells like a Ratt …… sounds like metal crunchin’ power. Ratt are back!

Ratt launched their brand of heavy metal in 1983 with their self titled EP, and went on to become one of the big heavy metal names, and now after a self imposed sabbatical Ratt have returned with their first new studio album in nine years.

They have reunited with the original members Stephen Pearcy, Warren DeMartini and Bobby Blotzer, and added bassist Robbie Crane. Produced by Richie Zito (Poison, The Cult, Heart) the album features eleven new songs, including collaborations with songwriters Mark Hudson, Taylor Rhodes and Jack Blades.

They have not lost their touch. Although the first few minutes seem a little slow the pace soon picks up and we have an album which packs raw power with well produced tracks that you have to keep playing …..louder and louder!

Yes, heavy metal is definitely back at last, no more sabbaticals for you guys.

6 stars


1 Over The Edge

2 Live for Today

3 Gave Up Givi’ Up

4 We Don’t Belong

5 Breakout

6 Tug Of War

7 Dead Reckoning

8 Luv Sick

9 It Ain’t Easy

10 All The Way

11 So Good, So Fine